Interesting problem with my laptop keyboard

For some reason, when I logged into my account on my Dell Latitude D620, typing on the keyboard was only possible when the key is depressed for it to repeat. Single characters were not appearing. I logged out, logged into another user and the keyboard response is as expected. I thought something was amiss and went about running “yum -y reinstall gnome*” thinking that it was some gnome setting that was messing things up. The update did nothing to change the behaviour and only when I went to (Fedora 9/Gnome): System->Preferences->Hardware->Keyboard under the Accessibility tab, the option “Bounce Keys”‘s option “Ignore fast duplicate keypresses” was checked. Unchecking it solved the issue. I am not sure how it got checked in the first place. Thought this should help someone.

About harishpillay

father, husband, son, hacker, friend, human
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

